Worldham 25-03-2017

The first 18 hole round is done. A full 5 weeks since I last even played 9 holes I got out to a course and finished 18 holes. It felt great. The score wasn’t what I’d hoped for when I started this back at the turn of the year, or compared to how I was playing at the tail end of last season, but my swing has been through a lot problems in that time so it is something to build from.

20170325_125502[1]

I didn’t take any pictures on the course but it was a gloriously sunny day as you can see from the range pic and the course had no tees off mats or temporary greens. I made it to the course with a good amount of time before so I had some balls on the range and some practice on the putting green before my partners arrived.

From that warm up time I made a decision that as there was a strong wind blowing and I was hitting a lot of shots off to the right that this probably wasn’t a day for me to be hitting my long clubs and losing more balls than necessary. It made sense to step down to 5 iron only off the tee and that showed when I hit the fairway on the 1st and no-one else did. Unfortunately I couldn’t hold it together and dropped a lot of shots over the first 2 holes.

I struggled on until, after having a frustrating nightmare on the 7th where I had to take 2 penalty drops, I started to string some shots together on the 8th and 9th holes. This kept me level with at least 1 of my playing partners on Stableford points at the turn and set myself up for a much improved back 9.

 

Worldham250317

The back 9 was a full 10 shots better than the front and added some respectability to my score for the day. I finished with 24 points scoring 114 playing off 28 which was not a number I wanted to be near. It was a great day and I’m not too disappointed with the result as I played some great shots and some awful ones. Now it’s time to focus on getting that score down and getting this years targets marked off the list.

Game Golf Round

GG Handicap – increased 1.8 to 21.6 from 19.8

Putts per hole – still 1.9

Longest Drive – still 215 yds

Leave a Reply

